Are we pulling all the stops?

Hey Mama,

So it’s transfer week once again and I’m finally staying in an area for more than one transfer! My new companion is Elder Singleton. He was trained in Saratoga Springs 4 transfers before me by Elder Critchley. Sister Kern and Elder Critchley both said he’s awesome. He is a convert and is 23 I believe. Ask Sister Kern for more details. I’m so hyped!
I got surgery on my toe today which was fun. They numbed it and cut part of the nail off. It felt so funny. I pretended I couldn’t really walk at Wal-Mart so that I could use one of the carts but they are so slow so I regret it big time. Probably one of the most disappointing moments of my life.
Doc said it will take a while to feel better so I will have to wear sandals to proselytize which will be fun and a great conversation starter. Thankfully we have a car cause my toe is in serious pain. But NO PAIN NO GAIN!
I was in charge of the area this week which meant I did literally everything because Elder Gonzalez was pretending to be a brand new missionary who didn’t know anything. I have learned a lot. It was very exhausting and frustrating but it was good because I will be in charge of the area now.
On Thursday we didn’t have a dinner appointment, so we went to the McDermaid’s house and ate some mac & cheese and it was so fun. They are so funny! The whole time Harris was stressing over a girl and the family was making fun of him. They are such an awesome family.
We found an awesome active family, the Checkett’s. We were asking them about their neighbours and we started talking about cars. Turns out the guy has a Mercedes AMG GTs. He let me sit in it and rev the engine and it was heavenly. Best sounding engine I have ever heard. Hopefully I can get a ride in it one of these day’s 🙂
We had Stake Conference for both stakes this weekend so we went to the South Stake Adult Sessions and the Mountain View Stake General Session. Both were equally great. President Presbury, second councillor in the South Stake Presidency, shared an awesome story about playing the organ. He is originally from England, and was the stake organist. There was a regional conference at Birmingham Town Hall and he was asked to play. Now this wasn’t your ordinary organ. It had 6000 pipes and has some 32 foot pipes which is massive! While he was practicing he noticed a large STOP (pulling STOPS makes the organ louder) and he decided to pull it. The organ was so loud he said!  It came time for the regional conference and they were singing How Firm a Foundation which is a very loud and motivating hymn. President Presbury decided to pull the giant STOP after the first verse… it drowned out the congregation. Keep in mind that there are multiple Apostle’s and General Authorities in attendance and they all turned and looked at him. He was about to push it back in when suddenly the congregation got louder than the organ. He said the spirit was so strong and it was talked about for months afterwards. Super cool EH!  I probably didn’t do the story justice, but imagine a man with an amazing English accent telling the story. I thought I was watching a documentary. How did he relate this to the Gospel you might ask… “Are we pulling all the stops?” Are we doing all we can to draw nearer to Christ and feel the Spirit more fully? It was such a great talk!
This Saturday was the Mayweather vs McGregor fight and it was all the hype. So many people were talking about it, and although not many people know this, I’m a huge McGregor fan. I used to watch his fight highlights before basketball games… its a miracle I never fought anyone haha! I was able to get to know some non-members by talking about the fight. It was a great finding tool, if they rejected us I’d ask if they were going to watch the fight and we’d talk for like 5 minutes. I wish I coulda watched it because apparently it was awesome.
Sad summer is about to end for you guys! Hope you had a good time. It was so hot here so I’m looking forward to it cooling down a bit. Miss you guys a lot! Tell everyone I love them. I’ll let you know about my toe and my new companion next week. I’m so excited! It’s gonna be an awesome 6 weeks 🙂 so happy! Love you tons!
Love,
Elder Mulholland 🇨🇦
Utah Orem Mission 🙂

Leave a comment